• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

SQL file does not exist (newbie query)

jmg666

Hi - hope someone can help with this. I'm a PHP newbie, so please bear with me. I'm trying to set up OSCommerce on a Unix box and have gone into the Plesk control panel to create a database, having unzipped everything to my httpdocs folder. I've done what my hosting company said to do, and created the new db using phpmyadmin. I'm now stuck at step 3 - New Installation, Database Import and get the following error message:

The following error has occurred:

SQL file does not exist: /usr/install/oscommerce.sql

I don't understand what's happening here - if I understand this correctly the path above seems to indicate that the oscommerce.sql file should be in a folder 'install' inside another folder called 'usr' in the httpdocs folder, but the actual path is = catalog/install/oscommerce.sql

Assuming the path in the error message is the correct one, I've created a new folder 'usr' in httpdocs with the folder 'install' inside that and the oscommerce.sql file inside that.

Is there something basic and stupid I'm doing here? Thanks in advance.

It appears that there is something dodgy about the original error message - 'usr' is a part of most file pathways to the root of your web, but only a part. So it would be part of something like this:

/usr/local/apache/htdocs/

You need to find out from your host what that exact pathway is, and when you run the install and it shows you an incorrect pathway you can correct it.

Vger

OK. I contacted the hosting company, and they suggest that I should import the database through Plesk, using phpmyadmin, which I've tried doing. I've tried importing oscommerce.sql using phpmyadmin but it comes up with an error message: