• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

web host not supporting SSL?

liner66

Hello everyone I'm Caroline. I am very new to this so please be kind. :rolleyes:

I am setting up an online craft store via Lycos. I've come to install SSL and obtain certificate from them and they say that they do not support SSL but payments will be secure anyway if customers pay through Paypal.

However, I want customer details to be secure too, and I want customers to see that the site is secure with the certificate logo.

Is there a way round this? I have only been with Lycos for a short time and would not be able to move hosts as I am contracted with Lycos for a length of time.

Can anyone please advise me on this?? Any help would be appreciated. Many thanks in advance....

Caroline

Hello everyone I'm Caroline.  I am very new to this so please be kind. :rolleyes:

I am setting up an online craft store via Lycos.  I've come to install SSL and obtain certificate from them and they say that they do not support SSL but payments will be secure anyway if customers pay through Paypal.

However, I want customer details to be secure too, and I want customers to see that the site is secure with the certificate logo.

Is there a way round this?  I have only been with Lycos for a short time and would not be able to move hosts as I am contracted with Lycos for a length of time.

Can anyone please advise me on this??  Any help would be appreciated.  Many thanks in advance....

Caroline

hello caroline,

dont know if i can help but im sure paypal have theirt own SSL certified site , so when you go from your checkout to their pay site it will be using their secure https site , so you wont need to be SSL, please i hope someone verifies this as im just a newbie.