• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

CHMOD/ database/ SSL/ paypal questions

erikwoods

Alright so I'm a newbie to this... my problems may or may not be related to osCommerce.

I think it's related to the server that my client is using.

file permissions problem

Anyhoo- I connect to the site via FTP (I'm using FileZilla) and I try to CHMOD the dirs and files that need to be changed but if I go back to see what the permissions are it still says 000. And if I look at the permissions for all the other files on the site they are 000. They never change from 000 to anything no matter what I try.

I've been frustrated with not being able to install the osCommerce thing for a few days and I never realized it might be caused by this.

database problem

Another question I have is about the database on my server. Databases are not my forte but I'm not completely illiterate.

The hosting service my client is using has a strange control panel and as far as I know I can only create a database- it doesn't allow me to set a username and password for it. Is this something I need to contact the hosting company about or is there another way around this?

question about SSL

One more question- it's about the quick install guide by Vger... he said do not enable SSL. Is this an option on the osCommerce installation or is he talking about not enabling SSL for the domain that is using the osCommerce application?

Sidebar question: Currently I have a subdomain (http://estore.mydomain.com) enabled with SSL and it's going to point to http://mydomain.com/catalog/. I assume this would work, right? The catalog directory is uploaded to http://mydomain.com/catalog/.

paypal website payments pro question

My client wants to use Paypal's new website payments pro merchant tool. Does osCommerce work with this tool? I'm just now learning about this stuff so I really have no idea.