• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Help please - Add text fields at checkout

dino705

I need to add additional text fields at checkout. I've searched the forums and the contributions for hours but can't find any help. I can't add the fields to the profile since the information would be different with each sale. I need to add 4 fields, so that the buyer can enter additional personal information based on the particular sale and that information would be sent to the store owner. Also the entries in the fields would be required for the sale to proceed. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm about ready to tell my client to give-up on osCommerce, its way too difficult to configure. Thanks.

I'm about ready to tell my client to give-up on osCommerce, its way too difficult to configure. Thanks.

... and you would turn off a brilliant masterpiece than!

I am an absolute noob to php and managed with fair knowledge of codeing in general and same db experience to set up a nicely customized shop. thx to the developers the community and everybody dedicated tothis project.

to sum up what you wanna do

some extra fields like "put the individual code supplied by post here" ... and make the field obligiatory?

in general I think the proces would be to check where to store these values in the db and alter/create the appropriate tables

than make the changes in checkout_confirmation.php

there is something similar or lets say a basis you could start off with wich is a german contribution that forces you to check a box before confirming like yeah read the conditions

so in general instead of a checkbox you need inputfields adn blablabla

be carefull not to hard code, as you loose session

I generally do for thinks like this A) backup backup backup

than look in other files and contrib/includes and start to try and error