• Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Can this be done?

tuppergirl

Hello all,

This is something I like to try out...

By Osc default, all products share the same layout from product_info.php, which is product description text, product image on the right and two buttons(review and Buy now).

Let's say in Product A. I want the Osc default information + product special features + product history with a different layout.

In Product B, I want the default info + product history only with another different layout.

I tried to search the contributions for it but to no avail. I'm sure it can be done and is fairly easy for the veterans but I don't know where to begin as I'm fairly new to php and mysql. Is there a similar contribution that I can download to learn to modify to what I want? or anyone can kindly guide me with the steps I needed to get it done? Thanks

Hi, can anyone help with this? Thanks

Tupper,

You might take a look at the STS and BTS template contributions to see how they approached this. I don't know either of them but I assume they are based on tags which pull one or the other part into osC.

If I would want something like you are looking for my approach would probably be like this:

- add a field to the products database where I can define a template file to be used with that specific product (ie. product_info_basic.php for the default layout, product_info_special1.php for a different layout etc.)

- strip the stock osC product_info.php from those parts I want to show dynamically and replace that with an include to the template php-file you defined with each product.

- create the seperate product template files

Basicly that should be it.

A simpler approach might be to add a tag to your product definitions and change the default product_info.php so it will show those parts you want or not want based upon those tags.

Hope this gives you some idea(s)

regards,

Howard

Hey there Tupper,