• Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Accessing catalog as home page

Tmag

Hi,

I'm new to this.

Everything is installed and configured to the point where I will start customizing.

I have searched the forums, but I can't find anything clear on how to make the catalog/welcome page my home page. ?.e. I would like the catalog page to open by default when someone types www.mysite.com into the browser address field. Now the default page is the parent directory. To access the catalog/welcome page the URL www.mysite.com/catalog must be entered.

If someone can offer some clear advice, it would be most welcome.

I have control panel (with most of the good tools) and FTP access, by the way.

Thanks,

Tmag

Hi,

I'm new to this.

Everything is installed and configured to the point where I will start customizing.

I have searched the forums, but I can't find anything clear on how to make the catalog/welcome page my home page. ?.e. I would like the catalog page to open by default when someone types www.mysite.com into the browser address field. Now the default page is the parent directory. To access the catalog/welcome page the URL www.mysite.com/catalog must be entered.

Thanks,

Tmag

All you need to do is move your entire store one directory level up to root - i.e EVERYTHING in catalog goes to public_html and you lose the catalog directory.

make sure when you do you chnage your configure.php paths

Charles

A kite flies highest AGAINST the wind !

"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, a lover in one hand, martini in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming ~ WOO HOO!! What a ride!"

Hi,

I'm new to this.

Thanks,

Tmag

It's easy, creat an index.php at your home address including the below only:

<?php header('Location: mystore/catalog/index.php'); ?>

change the path to yours.

Great!

Thanks for that.