• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

SSL Certificate???

sk1design

Hi i'm a newbie here...

i just started trying to integrating my oscommerce cart with paypal. and i'm a little unsure of what steps i need to take to do this (please bear with me). First; do i need to get a SSl certificate and install it on my site? Or is there a way to pass secure data through PayPal without my site having being secure? Any help will much appreciated...

Hi i'm a newbie here...

i just started trying to integrating my oscommerce cart with paypal. and i'm a little unsure of what steps i need to take to do this (please bear with me). First; do i need to get a SSl certificate and install it on my site? Or is there a way to pass secure data through PayPal without my site having being secure? Any help will much appreciated...

Do you NEED ssl ? No - osC works fine without it, but...

Should you use SSL - yes - if you take payments from customers and verify \ process them thro a payment gateway.

your site visitors who make cash payments to you will not only expect security - but if in the course of you passing those details onto a third party such as payment gateway they are intercepted - you could find yourself in hot lawsuits for negligence.

How to get SSL ? you do it in conjunction with your host -

1) they will generate certain info for you that you

2) will pass on to the vendor of your SSL cert (make sure the vendor has root certificates that are installed in most common browsers - their selling copy \ faq will tell you this)

3) once your cert is issued get your host to install it.

4) Amend your configure.php files to indicate that you now have SSL and you are done.

Sounds more complicated than it is :D

Charles

A kite flies highest AGAINST the wind !