• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

ARGGHHH!!

Maimunah

Ok so im new to this thing and im trying to follow exactly what it says in the documentaion and the advice given around in the forums..

So far ive been trying to change my logo.. i created a logo, called it oscommerce.gif, deleted the original logo in the /images folder... I uploaded the one i made, which has the same name as the old one (oscommerce.gif) and the old logo is still there!!! I refreshed the page a number of times but still.. nothing has changed..

another thing is you know how it says that if u want to change the text on the front page you have to go to catalog/includes/languages/english/index.php well i did that, i went to that file, edited it But before editing i copied the whole file to a text file just in case, so i followed exactly what was said to do.. all i did is erase text and add my own.. so i save the file and i try to go to the front page but it gave me an error "Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_STRING "

so i go back to the file and copy the original text which i had saved on the text file just incase something like this orrured.. so i copied and pasted the text, then saved and I STILL GET THE ERROR!!!!

Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/shebani/public_html/estore/catalog/includes/languages/english/index.php on line 14

WHAT DID I DO WRONG BOTH TIMES?

1. Assuming you did replace the .gif. It may still be a caching issue either locally on your PC or in a proxy server etc. Try right clicking and "view" the .gif in a browser, then click reflresh.

2. You probably used the osCommerce File Manager editor to edit the index.php. There is abug that removes back slashes \ and subsequently causes parse errors. (i.e. What\'s becomes What's) You need to "escape all ' with a \.

Start fresh on your PC with the edit, then ftp the file back to your site.

HTH

Tom