• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Need help with New Product Fields contribution

Hello,

I hope someone has installed this before that knows enough about phpMyAdmin controls that may be able to help me with the New Fields contribution. I did post the author at his site, but have not heard back, so not sure if I will.

Anyway, I am following the directions in this file from this page for Add New Product Fields: http://www.oscommerce.com/community/contri...rch,ISBN+author

I've got the files in osCommerce all updated, but I am stuck on the instructions posted in March 2005 regarding adding a new row in phpMyAdmin. I am an extreme novice when it comes to databases and only have a rudimentary knowledge of how to manipulate them in phpMyAdmin, so I was wondering if anyone might be able to clarify this process in a step-by-step directive?

This is the following instructions I am stuck on in the file: NewFields4-march-5.txt

==============================================================

"(1 march 2005)

what this does is add a new column to the product listing, so it appears it the header row and can be sorted on.

The page will only display columns that you have configured to be visible in the Products Listing part of the configuration section of the admin suite, and the columns will not be available in the Products Listing part of the configuration section of the admin suite unless they have been added to the configuration table of the data base.

Using PhpMyAdmin there are 2 tables we need to play with: configuration_group; and configuration.

These columns are in Configuration_group table:

configuration_group_id

configuration_group_title

configuration_group_description

sort_order

These columns are in the configuration table:

configuration_key = PRODUCT_LIST_ARTIST

configuration_title = Display Artist

sort_order = max + 1 (this is the order it displays in the admin suite)

configuration_group_id = 8