• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Product ID

knightrider

hi, I'm a newbie to oscommerce, and don't understand how the product info & ID works.

This is what I want:

ie, if customer clicks on a product picture (a chair), then it would go to url:

http://www.yourdomain.com/product_info.php?products_id=29, which describes the full product information.

But how do I set the ID number for each product to automatically link with product_info.php?

Somebody pls help me!! :(

hi, I'm a newbie to oscommerce, and don't understand how the product info & ID works.

This is what I want:

ie, if customer clicks on a product picture (a chair), then it would go to url:

http://www.yourdomain.com/product_info.php?products_id=29, which describes the full product information.

But how do I set the ID number for each product to automatically link with product_info.php?

Somebody pls help me!!  :(

product_id gets set automatically when you create a product. why dont you create some test products and see for yourself? its pretty self-explanatory.

I've added 2 new products in the "categories/products", but there is no new php file created for their links. Do I have to create the php file (ie. "...../product_info.php?products_id=29" with a html editor (dreamweaver), or is it supposed to create itself on the server?

Same case with links from the content on the left side (in index.php),

ie. "chairs",

"desks"

etc,

they're supposed to link to http://yourdomain.com/index.php?cPath=1,

http://yourdomain.com/index.php?cPath=etc. So do I create from dreamweaver then save as "....cPath=1" or do I do it from admin, or how do I do it?

Thanks for ur help, appreciate it!