• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Need Big Advice !!! Please

julianpuje

I have been running and submitting my site for just over 12 months now and get spidered many times a month, now @ 20,000+ a month. (Google page rank still only 2 though)

From this i have seen my link popularity across the web shoot up to @ 5-6000, which was more than my competitors and growing steadily. However, over the last week, this has now dropped considerably to @ 1500!!!!!, has anybody got any advice on whether these are normal sort of figures or does it look like my site is doomed into Search engine oblivion!! :'(

Google hasn't been too happy about the site from the start, as i think i messed up when i first submitted my site. I submitted a mirror site before i managed to get around to changing it. This was 12 months ago though.

I am considering changing my domain name and starting again, raising these questions:-

1, Does this make sense to change domain name?

2, Am i wasting my time?

3, Will it be worth losing 12 months worth of spidering?

4, Am i being impatient? and should i just sit and wait?

5, If the change seems the only way to go, how do i go about submitting a new domain without it being seen as a mirror site.

6, Would i be best to keep the original site, and leave it to it. Then set up a redirect to the new domain? obviously tweaking it a lot so it isn't mirrored?

Any help on this, advice, comments appreciated.

Thanks in advance :thumbsup:

Julian

A little knowledge is dangerous, I SHOULD KNOW.

If Life Begins At 40, What ends????

Well...

1. Google does penalize new sites, but usually no more than 3 months....

2. With creative use of 301 redirects you do not loose ur 12 months work....

on the other hand....

1. keep ur exsisting website...

2. create a new (mirror) web site, with different urls and metas and start new with this one.....

3. do some creative cross linking