• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Promotion of site

RojanUK

Hello,

My store went live this morning and now comes the daunting task of making it known to the world (well, the UK in any case - I'm not delivering worldwide yet) that the site exists. That is something I have had no experience with whatsoever. I've listed the site on search engines and I found a site where you could put free ads on and obviously listed it there. But I'm drawing a blank after that.

Can anybody give some ideas on what I could do to promote my site?

BTW I have to note that I have no promotion budget at all.

Thanks,

My store - World Wide Wonders UK

RojanUK

Well, this doesn't help...

Warning: mysql_connect(): Too many connections in /home/worldwid/public_html/includes/functions/database.php on line 19
Unable to connect to database server!

The SQL server of my host has gone down... again. It's the second time today. But what would be a good way to promote providing everyting was working properly? ;)

RojanUK

I see you have ebay auctions, be sure to mention your site to every auction winner and person who asks you a question from ebay.

I have actually a 'thank you for your purchase' slip, which has the URL of my site on it and I include that in the enveloppe. My wife does the same with her auctions. So, that's under way, but there must be more things that I could do to promote the site, other than ebay slips and listing with search engines. I'm open for any more ideas.

RojanUK

I have actually a 'thank you for your purchase' slip, which has the URL of my site on it and I include that in the enveloppe. My wife does the same with her auctions. So, that's under way, but there must be more things that I could do to promote the site, other than ebay slips and listing with search engines. I'm open for any more ideas.

1) write content for the site and create pages that you change often - search engines love that stuff