• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Stylesheet Difficulties

darkangel13

Hello,

I've been using the OS for about6-7 months now. I was not a code person before using so it's been a learning process all the way.

I have a store up and running now we are getting in orders and things seem to be working.

Only issue i am having is regarding the look of the category navbar on the left hand side of the page.

I have no clue how to neaten it up to make it look less squished together. Somebody mentioned styelsheets however I have no clue where to find them or how to change them in any way.

Is there somebody who could help me out with this simple tweak. The link to the store if you want to see it currently is below.

Thanks,

Michael S. Wood

my store is at:

www.magicparlor.com click on online store

Hi,

you are not using the center store so you have plenty of space in the middle you could assign to the side columns.

Go to includes/application_top, around line 50-60 (I have installed mods so not sure) find this:

// customization for the design layout

define('BOX_WIDTH', 125); // how wide the boxes should be in pixels (default: 125)

Personally, I use 135, you could even use up to 150 depending on category length, I think it would look much better in your store.

Would you like to unsquish it between the lines too? If yes I'd need to look into that. I think when he lines get unfolded it may not be necessary.

:-)

Monika

Monika

addicted to writing code ... can't get enough of databases either, LOL!

my toolbox: Textpad - Compare and Merge - phpMyAdmin - WS_FTP - Photoshop - How to search the forum

Interactive Media Award July 2007 ~ category E-Commerce

my advice on the forum is for free, PMs where you send me work are considered consultation which I charge for ...

Only issue i am having is regarding the look of the category navbar on the left hand side of the page.