• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Another SSL Question

dark10304

Please bare with me guys as i am very new to PHP and Webhosting. However i have 10 years technical support behind me. From desktop support to currently enterprise server support (ms clustering, raid, san, emc..etc) Keep in mind i am a hardware tech and never really looked into php or anything to do with webdesign.

In any case.. I am trying to get SSL working for OSC but i cant figure it out. When i go through the install and login to admin it says i am not SSL Secure.

I am using fantastico through my host.

My host also provides SSL manager that allows me to create Private Keys, CRTs, and CSR.

I honestly dont understand what these keys do and how they function but i created one each. Since then when i ftp to the site i see a new folder in my root directory called SSL and seems to have all the keys i created there.

Now back to fantastico.. During the setup it asks me the following with a field to populate:

Secure server hostname in case you use SSL. Only hostname (and username in case of a shared certificate). Don't add 'https://' and don't use leading or trailing slash.

I dont know exactly what to put in here.. I have tried multiple directory structures but none work. Still get not SSL secure when the install is complete and i log into the OSC admin section. (last dir tried was - secure.bluehost.com/~********). I was told i needed to keep the tilde in the dir and the preceeding would need to by my unix name.. whick is my root login for my host.

My host is Bluehost. I found this document: http://helpdesk.bluehost.com/kb/index.php?...bid=143&kbcat=3

Which has only confused me more. Please someone walk me through this a bit more please. I have been hammering this for a couple of hours now and getting a bit fluttered. :blush: