• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Basic PHP SSL

Hi Guys, a basic question.

I know php has a lot to do with encription/security, does the fact that php scripts, write details to a dbserver mean that the read write process is secure in itself?

I've currently purchased some shared ssl space, should I install the whole catalog to this web space so that all pages are secure by default? or only certain ones?

I'm going to use a form of offline cc processing. have read a really good post from secretagent on how help secure this using contributions:

EZ" Secure Order & Customer Viewing for osCommerce

CVV for cc.php

Clear CC number from orders

The bit I'm unclear on is when the php script is secure-encrypted/(transmitting secure details) what then is the purpose of ssl. Is it esentialy another layer of security over and above the php scripts.

Forgive the dumbness I'm still a newbie, Thanks

SSL is needed for the communication between the server and the client's browser to be secure. So it is still very essential to secure transactions. Most customers won't even consider putting their confidential info into a web page that isn't SSL secured.

The regular catalog pages don't need to be secured, but I would secure the admin and all account and checkout pages.

PHP itself is a programming language and doesn't implement security. Rather, properly written, it will utilize SSL encryption that is made available to it by the server. The topic of web security can (and does) fill books.

hth

Hi Guys, a basic question.

I know php has a lot to do with encription/security, does the fact that php scripts, write details to a dbserver mean that the read write process is secure in itself?

I've currently purchased some shared ssl space, should I install the whole catalog to this web space so that all pages are secure by default? or only certain ones?