• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Installation on server101 hosting

Hi I am a newbie when it comes to php and mysql.

I am trying to setup oscommerce, on a shared host at server101.com for testing.

I downloaded the files, uploaded the catalog file and started the install from my browser. I had to modify the php files by replacing all instances of $PHP_SELF with $SCRIPT_NAME (fix as found in one of the posts here) as the install would freeze part way throught the first screen.

After this fix during install, I have managed to communicate with an empty database I had created but when I try to import the tables and sample data it can't find the oscommerce.sql file.

This is the location it is showing.

The file to import must be located and named at:

/s101/install/oscommerce.sql

I find this puzzling as the file is located within the "catalog" folder as supplied by oscommerce and should read

/catalog/install/oscommerce.sql

I don't know where it got the /s101 path, as this does not exist within my hosted space.

Can anyone shed some light on this problem

Thanks

Alan

It is quite possible that your hosting company is locating all sql databases on a seperate server - which is a good thing. If this is the case then you will have to import the data in the oscommerce.sql file via phpMyAdmin.

You should have access to this via your web hosting control panel, but if you don't then your hosting company will have to do the import for you.

Vger

I had already looked at myphpadmin but could not see any option for importing data only for exporting tables and data. I'll talk to my hosts today and see if they can help.

Thanks

Alan

It is quite possible that your hosting company is locating all sql databases on a seperate server - which is a good thing.  If this is the case then you will have to import the data in the oscommerce.sql file via phpMyAdmin.