• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Best payment option(s) ...

kaat

Hi All,

I'm an eCommerce noob, setting up osCommerce for my home-based specialized web-hosting business, and now trying to choose payment options. For the record, I am quite web savvy, and have good HTML and PHP skills, which I will employ as necessary.

Of course I want reasonable transaction fees, but my first focus is: Which (type of) payment processing services offer the best experience for the customer?

I mean which:

- Are easiest to understand?

- Are the quickest and most convenient?

- Feel the most secure?

>> Bottom line: Which best encourage/least hinder sales?

I would greatly appreciate your comments and experiences on this.

Two specific points I could use feedback on:

(1) I figure it's better to keep all transactions completely within one's own web site, such that payments and such are merely background processes (as opposed to customers being thrown to say, PayPal). Do you agree, and can this be achieved?

(2) When researching payment processing companies, many don't seem to publish their rates. E.G.: I've been to several Authorize.net resellers, but have yet to find costs. Am I missing something? Can someone give me a rough idea of Authorize.net's fees?

Many thanks in advance,

Martin (kaat)

it all depends upon your product, and how much you are selling if it is cost effective to get a payment processor and merchant account.

if someone sells up to (this is just a pulled out of hat figure) $3000, then you need to break it down by your margin, payment processor fees, merchant account fees, etc. to go to paypal versus something else, all up to the individual.