• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Basic Installation

danmagicman7

Hi

I have my own webspace that supports mySQL.

I have absolutly no idea how to get osCommerce or Interchange up and running. I understand you have to make a mySQL database but how do i do this? Is there some basic tutorial? Also, when i go on the interchange website, it says "in the server console" or whatever... How do i access my server's console? I need a basic tutorial that will walk me through. I really want to get interchange up and running but the documentation is poor and the support forum has no people on it. The osCommerce seems alot more user friendly, but the template of the website is predefined. I am a web designer and would like to design the whole website to my bidding.

Thanks!

I can upload and download files -- been doing it for many years.  I can "create" a database. In my control panel and so on...no idea what to do with it.  More useful help would be appreciated.

As an example, my hosts control panel already has the db installed with a specific name. So my details would be:

database name = dbname

user name = whatever

password = whatever

When you install osc, if your db is there, you just add this info in the required fields at install and osc does the rest.

HTH

As an example, my hosts control panel already has the db installed with a specific name.  So my details would be:

database name = dbname

user name = whatever

password = whatever

When you install osc, if your db is there, you just add this info in the required fields at install and osc does the rest.

HTH

How do i tell it to install?

I answered the way I did because of this from you:

I have absolutly no idea how to get osCommerce or Interchange up and running. I understand you have to make a mySQL database but how do i do this?