• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Look to the future - PHP5

Marc_J

Hi,

I see from this thread that MS-2 will not be compatible with PHP5.

I'm currently working on 4 osCommerce powered sites, some of which are heavily modified (one with over 20 contribs), and just want to know - will the upgrade to PHP5 (i.e. MS-3) be an easy one for such sites, or a headache?

I haven't used osCommerce before so have no experience upgrading from one release to another - what does it typically involve? Am I worrying for no reason?

I guess I just need some reassurance! I don't see any point in continuing development of these sites if I'll need to seriously delve into them soon (my host is upgrading ASAP).

Congrats on a great product btw - I'm fairly new to it but finding my way around!

We will make sure the MS-3 code works with PHP5... we wont fix any problems with contributions that you may have installed however.

We will also provide a DB upgrade where possible to make the MS-2 database MS-3 compatible... although if the contributions you have installed modify the database which conflicts with our upgrader you may have to spend some time troubleshooting.

Mark Evans

osCommerce Monkey & Lead Guitarist for "Sparky + the Monkeys" (Album on sale in all good record shops)

---------------------------------------

Software is like sex: It's better when it's free. (Linus Torvalds)

• 2 weeks later...
We will make sure the MS-3 code works with PHP5... we wont fix any problems with contributions that you may have installed however.

We will also provide a DB upgrade where possible to make the MS-2 database MS-3 compatible... although if the contributions you have installed modify the database which conflicts with our upgrader you may have to spend some time troubleshooting.

I haven't been back here for some time, but I came-a-running when I got a notification from my Host saying that they have started testing PHP5.