• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Book Rental System

spooken

Hi guys,

I'm looking to open a book rental site. I know this topic has been discussed a lot before in this forum where people wants to do DVD rental. I searched but I found no real solution regarding the problem. Many people suggested to hire some programmers to do real 'hacking' to OSCommerce. I'm not sure if anyone who's asked here has succeeded yet, but I found one website Moviepaks.com that use OSC and it's decently designed.

I'm not sure if this is even the right forum to ask this but how much will this 'hacking' cost? I'm curious but I have a limited budget as I'm a student. Thought I could rent textbooks for a small fee. It's better than just to sell it back to the bookshop :). I can only spare perhaps a couple hundred dollars.

Newbie here. I hope I dun get flamed or anything like that. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Hi,

I am currently building a "rental" site with OSC, the only major thing that needs doing is building the "Queue" function. Everything else is not a problem and I may take the path of hacking the cart and turning it into the customer queue feature or just starting from scratch.

But if there is anybody out there that has already done this i wouldnt mind a few tips :-)

Would love to know what moviepaks did :-)

Hi Madbuce,

I was thinking about using the wishlist but does this not allow a 3rd party to view/add/remove products from it? Or can you mod it so that the only person that can view it is the registered member?

Thanks for the pointer, it was one of my options, not looked at it yet but will do :-)

P.S. very nice site, would it be possible for me to contact you regarding things such as the "queue" function.

Do you find your site profitable?

• 6 months later...
Hi Madbuce,