• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Totaly lost !!

sunbonnetsue

ahh figured that bit out, can anyone tell me how to set it to work using ? rather than $ or euro ??

Under your catalog there is a localization menu. You can set currency there.

Welcome, I am a newbie myself. I bought a book on php, I would highly recommend anyone new to oscommerce to find a good one also.

Good luck

Under your catalog there is a localization menu.  You can set currency there. 

Welcome, I am a newbie myself.  I bought a book on php, I would highly recommend anyone new to oscommerce to find a good one also.

Good luck

i think i might just take you up on that, having no tech background what so ever , other than email and browsing, im clueless.. Amazon time me thinks ))

many thanks )

I would advise anyone new to osCommerce to have a good look at the Knowledge Base, as there are some useful instructions there. Here are some general hints, based on my own experience.

1. If this site is going to be critical to your business then be sure to take daily backups of the whole website, including the mysql database.

2. osCommerce runs best when hosted on Linux or Unix servers. Windows servers can be a real pig to work with, and are prone to breakdown and hacking.

3. If you are used to writing html then you should be able to customise osCommerce yourself, but a text editor a bit more advanced than Notepad is a good thing to have. I recommend TextPad. If you are going to alter files, then don't use the online oscommerce file manager to do so. Download the files, and alter them in Notepad or textPad, and then upload them again using an FTP programme e.g.WS FTP Pro.

Hope this helps - Vger

is there a guide to how to use ?? i can get the test site up on my server but i cant figure out how to do anything else