• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Editing Files

Rashed

hey,

im new at this at i was just wondiering if it is possible to change files driectly from the server. if i ftp into my oscommerce store then i can change permissions of particular files and edit them however when i try to edit files directly from the server i get the following error

Error: I can not write to this file. Please set the right user permissions on: /hsphere/local/home/mnrat/mnr.com.au//catalog/includes/languages/english/index.php

so really i have 2 main question:

1) how to i set the privellages of each file from the os admnistation tool (if this is possibe)

2) how do i log in as adminstator since this file has its previllages so that the adminstator can change the file anyways.

thanks in advance

Rashed.

never edit the files on a live server unless in an emergency where you dont have them locally. can cause more grief than what it is worth.

permissions in admin are configure.hp file 644 backups 777 images/graphs and below 777

dont know what you are using for controlling admin. i use htaccess

hey tanx for the advice about not editing files on the server.

however i understand the permissioning stucture its just that the only way i can say CHMOD from 644 to 777 is through an ftp server. does oscommerce provide a facility where i can change the mode of a file from the actual admin interface.

also if i set a file as 774 it still wont allow me to edit the file, how do i check and make sure that i am logged in as the admistrator. if im in the admin site then surely this must mean i am logged in as the adminstorator but for somereason its still not allowing me to edit any files.

hey tanx for the advice about not editing files on the server.