• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Dreamweaver

sbusch

I am very new with Dreamweaver, acutally first day having the trail version. I was wondering if you must buy the complete program to be able to edit php in the design mode. I have used ftp to get my files but when I open them, all I see is the code and no design. Does dreamweaver show you the design and I am not doing something right?

It can render php if you have it install locally.

However, you cannot edit php in design mode. Sorry, code only.

I am very new with Dreamweaver, acutally first day having the trail version.  I was wondering if you must buy the complete program to be able to edit php in the design mode.  I have used ftp to get my files but when I open them, all I see is the code and no design.  Does dreamweaver show you the design and I am not doing something right?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NOTE: As of Oct 2006, I'm not as active in this forum as I used to be, but I still work with osC quite a bit.

If you have a question about any of my posts here, your best bet is to contact me though either Email or PM in my profile, and I'll be happy to help.

It can render php if you have it install locally.

However, you cannot edit php in design mode. Sorry, code only.

Sorry for my lack of knowledge. When you say it can render it if it is install locally. Do you mean if I downloaded my page or if I actually designed it from start locally?

And is there actually a way to see my code displayed as a webpage before sending to my website. Cuz, I know I am going to mess it up while learning.

Thanks for the help

I mean if you have php, mysql and the OSC cart installed locally, then dreamweaver can reder the page properly. That's also how you can change a page before uploading it to the website.