• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Removing oscsid in a url

megame

Hi,everyone

i am new to oscommerce, i own an site to sell to something on my oscommerce store, but when someone access my site there is a long url in address bar like this:http://www.mysite.com/index.php?osCsid=98c51069d85ab336d046211c5aef5aef&cPath=2, how can i remove the osCsid query for the purpose of search engine friendliness?

You only want to prevent Spiders from having SIDs. You dod that by setting 'Prevent Spider Sessions' to 'True' in the admin.

If you want ot prevent customers from using SIDs, then you set 'Force Cookie Use' to 'true'

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NOTE: As of Oct 2006, I'm not as active in this forum as I used to be, but I still work with osC quite a bit.

If you have a question about any of my posts here, your best bet is to contact me though either Email or PM in my profile, and I'll be happy to help.

wizardsandwars, now i face a new problem is that if i prevent customers from using SIDs by setting 'Force Cookie Use' to 'true' then someone who accesses my site just couldn't continue to buy anything. how can i enable customers to buy something but yet there is not boring osCsid in the url?Thank you once again.

wizardsandwars, now i face a new problem is that if  i prevent customers from using SIDs by setting 'Force Cookie Use' to 'true' then someone who accesses my site just couldn't continue to buy anything. how can i enable customers to  buy something but yet  there is not boring osCsid in the url?Thank you once again.

If you are going to allow customers to purchase even if they do not have cookies enabled in their browser, then you must allow SIDs in the URL. Otherwise, for those customers, there is no way to keep track of what they have in their cart.

I'm afraid that the only two choices are....