• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Total Newbie

candlekate

Just when I thought I'd been blessed with moderate intelligence, along comes OSC to prove me wrong. I upgraded to a commercial package with my webhost and they installed OSC for me and then sent me an email telling me to come here for how-tos. I've been scratching my head in bewilderment ever since. I feel dumber than dirt and am just this side of saying to hell with it and moving on with my life. Before I get there, though, maybe someone out there could help me with some questions I have and get me on the right track.

To begin with, is there a step1-2-3 instruction manual out there that I've somehow missed? If so, please tell me where!

Secondly,I am not too thrilled with the cookie-cutter style that most OSC sites have. I have a background in graphics and wanted to be able to use it a little more liberally than OSC appears to allow. Are there other options that I may have missed. I have seen some links to a "max" version that seems to have some attributes that I would like to incorporate (gift vouchers, etc.) but if it means installing it, quite frankly I am having enough trouble with the configuring and don't even want to venture near an installation process at this point.

Also, as to glitches in this version I can't seem to get rid of, I create my own product, and so have no need for things like manufacturer listings and stock amounts. How do I get those off the product info page? I also want to get rid of the line that says when the product was added to the catalog. How do I go about that?

I know only the bare minimum about php and mysql, and only enough html to be slightly dangerous, and many times when I read the posts in this forum I haven't got a clue what's being said. So please, any help offered really needs to be in the most basic of terms, for while I'm an old bird who's been around a while, in this area I am a virgin. Please be gentle.