• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Where to start after installation/configuration?

Hi all,

I'm quite new to osCommerce and I guess my question is aked before (but I couldn't find it :huh: ), so please don't shoot me :)

Well, I've just installed osCommerce via Cpanel. I used the webbased configuration "wizard" because the automatic install procedure of Cpanel didn't work. Everything went smooth, it wasn't hard at all to install, and now I get the default index page with the default example webshop. Everything OK so far.

BUT, when I change anything, for example the name of my store, nothing seems to happen! I don't get any errors because all file/dir rights are ok, but I can't see any changes to the home page of my online shop.

I've searched for some documentation, but could only find the KB and install instructions. Because installation went ok, I don't need these instructions anymore.

I suppose it is something minor, but I can't find what it is. Do I need to setup a new online store or should it work with the default example database?

Every help (directly or indirectly by pointing me to interesting user guides or forum topics) is much appreciated!

Regards,

Timoth?e

The changes in admin for name and so on will not show in the actual store front, you will have to edit a few things in the files as mentioned on the default front page text ie english.php if that is your language and also index.php files so read the front page and then read it again until you are sure what to do.

Hope this helps.

Hmmm, well...I just read the frontpage text again. There are no errors, so I could jump to the second point directly. I see in english.php that the title is hardcoded :huh:. If I change it here, the correct shop name is displayed in the browser screen, but this is not the way I want it. I just want to be able to set the shopname in the admin module and see it directly after that edit in the shop.