• Checkout
  • Login
  • Get in touch

osCommerce

The e-commerce.

Related Products by Categories - I need help!

naiadomare

Hi all,

I need some help to get something I'm working on to work. It's based on the Optional Related Products (ORP) contribution and I think it could be the start of a contribution that would be useful for more people. I'm just hacking the living daylights out of it to get it to work so there's a lot of redundant, unnecessary code still in it and I've probably done some horribly ugly coding. I'm no expert, I'm what I would call a suck-it-and-see programmer. Sorry about that in advance.

Due to unforeseen personal circumstances, we are supposed to launch our new on-line clothes shop in TWO DAYS!!!! It's all organised into collections meaning that everything in "Short dresses > Collection X" is related to "Accessories > Collection X", etc., for example.

What I'm trying to do is associate whole categories and then display a selection of the products from related categories in a new page when the customer clicks on a "related products" link.

I've already modified the ORP back-end system to associate whole categories instead of products. It is organised in the same way by category ID master and slave ; for example:

Master - Category A (ID 1)------------> Slave - Category B (ID 2)

Master - Category A (ID 1)------------> Slave - Category C (ID 3)

So, the idea is to put a link next to each product (using it's parent category ID as "Master") that would send people to a page with a random selection of products from the "Slave" categories.

Does anyone have any idea of how I could go about doing this? I was thinking of modifying the product_listing.php but I'm not really sure how.

I think that I'd have to first make the link from the product identify its parent category to the file that would generate the listing and then fetch first its slave categories from the db and then a selection of products from these category IDs to display.